Adult on set lonliness epidemic 

We have a real problem in the world today. Its lonliness. I have a theory as to why has become such an epidemic. 

One problem is technology. We’ve removed all human involvement right out of the world. Online banking, robotic phone systems, self check out, online shopping, grocery delivery, social media. You could go the rest of your life without having to actually see or speak to a human being. This is not only terrifying. It takes a toll after a while and leaves us all feeling lonely.

Theres no real friends anymore.

Now the church will sell you “friends” for the low low price of 10% of your wages, these people will sure chat you up on sunday and “pray for you” but don’t expect anything more.

Of course there is online “friends” twitter, facebook, instagram, snapchat, etc and in those communities we are not lacking. In those communities most of us are rich with friends in abundance and i dont want you to think im saying this is a bad thing. I adore my online friends. It is good, but is it good enough? If I have over 2k instagram followers and hundreds of facebooks friends why am I still so damn lonely.

If only I was one of the popular kids. I didnt think in adulthood it would matter anymore but I didn’t have many friends then and i still dont now. The popular kids who had a million friends then, still have a million friends now and they look so damn happy. Ive always had a small handful of friends and the truth is when life got hard, really hard, most of them disappeared. Not that I claim to be perfect myself either.

Marraige can sometimes leave us more lonely then not. We watch separate tvs, in seperate rooms, on separate floors, on separate smart phones and wonder why marriages fail.

Are we too busy?

Were all doing our own thing, weve got kids, marriages, school, homework, gymnastics, baseball, meetings, appts, and we are all so incredibly self involved I suppose there is no time left. 

What about family? Well its not that simple for all of us. Certainly not for me. Broken home, divorced parents, drug addict dad (who kicked me off his door step the last time I tried to visit and let him meet his granddaughter) absent, self proclaimed career woman mom (who “never wanted” to be a mom) half sisters and brothers, most of whom I don’t talk to, from different dads and moms all over the united states. For me, there is no family. 

Then there are the friends that hurt. Is it worth the risk? Im sure some would say they dont have anymore room in their hearts for the hurt. They get enough of that in their marriage, by thier kids, etc. Humans, in general, are generally not good to eachother. But, they are all we got. And some people are genuinely good, I refuse to give up on that.

I guess for some of us this is it. Perpetual lonliness. Theres no way to really make friends as an adult. Not if you move as much as me, dont work outside the home, didnt attend college. How does one make friends as an adult? No really. I dont want to be a shut in, I want to do life with others, desperately. I could be a damn friend one if given the chance. You dont get a do over on your parents, you cant pick your family, but you can pick your friends, so I guess what im saying is can this be as easy as it was on the preschool playground? Hi, my name is Amber, will you be my friend?

Leave a Reply

